Management HEI

Management of a Higher Education Institution
HEIs are structural units subordinated to the Ministry of Education. Every institution is juridical entity, has its own stamp and logo, bank accounts, and owns the patrimony of the institution. HEIs are educational, research and cultural centers aimed at training specialists in various fields. Public universities are financed from the budget and other sources (donations, sponsorships, contracted tuition fees, micro-production, etc.).


The activity of every institution is based on the Statute approved by the Senate. Internal Regulations are developed by the Council of Administration of each institution. University autonomy regards the types of management, structure and the functioning of the institution, teaching activity and scientific research. The reorganization and termination of activity for HEIs is proposed by the Senate and approved by the Government of Moldova.


A HEI is structured in faculties, educational and administrative departments, laboratories, research centers, design and micro-production units, Center for Continuing Education, Center for Advanced Technologies, Libraries, etc. The structure of a HEI is elaborated and approved by the Senate by mutual consent with the Ministry of Education. Also Colleges and lyceums (X-XII forms) can be affiliated to HEIs.


The faculties comprise educational departments, laboratories and divisions for the organization of the teaching process. The educational department organizes and provides education in one or several related subjects. The laboratories are utilized for practical classes and also for research activity.


The University Senate is the main governing body. The Senate is elected by vote for a 5-year period and is chaired by the Rector of the university. The Senate has the leading role in the development of the university strategy and long-term programs. The governing body of the faculty is the Council, chaired by the Dean. The departments (educational and non-educational) are chaired by the head of the department. The operational leadership of a university is provided by the Bureau of the Senate. The Rector (President) of the university is elected by vote of the Senate members for a 5-year period and is assigned to the office by the Government. The Rectors of HEIs form the Rectors’ Council, a body with consultative functions.

The Senate has the following rights: approves the internal Regulations;

  1. elects the Rector and the university professors, the associate professors, assigns the Deans, heads of the educational departments and heads of laboratories;
  2. approves the curricula;
  3. approves the bilateral cooperation agreements;
  4. approves the annual activity report presented by the Rector;
  5. etc.


The Rector is the legal representative of the university, runs and controls the utilization of financial means, signs agreements, issues orders, assigns to positions the vice-Rectors, chairs the Senate and the Council of Administration meetings, and so on.


University autonomy refers to the leadership, structure and operation of the institution, academic and research activity, administration and financing. HEls have the right to organize, perform and improve the teaching and research, to define which specializations are to be offered, to develop curricula and analytical programs in conformity with the national educational standards, to organize admission and enroll students, recruit and promote the academic and non-academic staff, to set up evaluation criteria for academic and research activity, to award academic titles, to elect by vote the administrative and governing bodies, to solve social problems of students and personnel life, to find additional sources of financing, to establish cooperation with universities, research centers and other institutions inside the country and from abroad. Concerning the financial aspect the university autonomy envisages the right to manage the funds in the frame of the legislation.